DCEmulation Update

Talk about just about anything else that is non-gaming here, but keep it clean
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
Posts: 9784
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

DCEmulation Update

Post by racketboy »

Just received this message:
Hello everyone from DCEmulation.com,

My name is 007Cheater and I’m the creator and owner of DCEmulation.com, a
previous staff member has *hacked* the old site by destroying everything on
dcemulation.com and moved it to his own servers without permission. Not
only is this illegal and I will be pursuing legal action if not resolved,
this is extremely disrespectful to me the creator of DCEmu and the willful
host of DCEmu for many years.

I trusted this individual very much and everything he has done is
deceitful, hateful, and disrespectful. I am in the process of bringing the
site back to its original state, if you know anything about this matter or
would like to help please contact me at seany187 (at) seanbryant.com.

The IRC Channel has also been taken over, please visit the original
channel irc.cheatlist.com channel #dcemu, the channel #dcemulation is a
fraud!

Remember: The real URL for DCEmulation is http://www.dcemulation.com

Thank you!
User avatar
GSZX1337
Next-Gen
Posts: 5805
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Madison, TN

Post by GSZX1337 »

Even though I've never been to this site, it pisses me off to hear that it has been haxored. I used to go to a forum that was near perfect (laid back, no elitism, great place) then one of the members hacked it. Really brought my piss to a boil, I wanted to track that guy down and break his neck.

Nice to know that it's coming back. :)
User avatar
nick944
64-bit
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: The Woodlands, Texas

Post by nick944 »

Is he talking about dcemu.co.uk?
CantStrafeRight
24-bit
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:25 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by CantStrafeRight »

I clicked on a link for that site yesterday, I was wondering why I went to a completely different site.
Image
"The Mega Drive system features stereo sound for extra excitement."
User avatar
nick944
64-bit
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: The Woodlands, Texas

Post by nick944 »

I just emailed him asking about it and he is talking about dcemu.co.uk. Though I really like the site, it is the best DS (and DC) homebrew site I've ever seen.
molotovwars
Next-Gen
Posts: 1443
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Silver Spring, MD

Post by molotovwars »

I hope its back up soon.
Image
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
Posts: 9784
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by racketboy »

So dcemu.co.uk was the one that stole it?
Wow.
User avatar
glynnahab
128-bit
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:38 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA

Post by glynnahab »

This is an area of monumental concern for me. I just bought a Dreamcast....... :(
Caboose
24-bit
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:19 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Caboose »

I think you guys are a bit confused. I go to those forums regularly and have been for a few years now, just to clear some things up:

DCEmu.co.uk has nothing to do with this. There was an argument among the administrative staff about the site creator (who has neglected the site for many years to pursue other things) who put a link to one of his new sites (the site you were linked to before he restored the forum) on the main page. This pissed some people off because the site has absolutely nothing to do with Dreamcast or emulation, so it was removed. It was then put back on, then removed again. You get the idea. I'm guessing that one of the administrators (or someone who can access the forum files on the server) got fed up with the BS and the neglect from the original site creator (the person who's blog article or whatever is quoted in Racketboy's first post) and decided to move the site to a new server so that only the people who care about the site and want to maintain it can access the site. This way, they won't have to deal with the crap anymore and they can take care of the place. I believe that whoever did this did it with good intentions and felt it was what needed to be done so that the remaining members of the community and those who need help can still get it before the site became basically one of those ad websites. That article is extremely biased and makes him sound like a big victim, but now you guys have the other side of the story and can draw your own conclusions.
User avatar
Ack
Moderator
Posts: 22581
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:26 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Post by Ack »

Well, that's kinda funny, in a sad way. Thanks for letting us know the other side of the story Caboose. Either way, I think all of us want the same thing, for the site to come back and for everything to work out. I guess I can understand both sides, but the link really doesn't make sense if it's not related. Still, if he's still paying for hosting, he does get a say...eh, complicated issue.

Too bad for all the people who visit their forums, though. That sucks.
Post Reply