FINALLY I'm getting a laptop for xmas

Windows, Mac, DOS, and all those-other personal computing platforms
mas
Next-Gen

FINALLY I'm getting a laptop for xmas

Post by mas »

So my father in law is going to give me his dell laptop for xmas. I'm not sure what model it is or what the thing looks like but finally.
So what do I need to make this a gaming laptop and what will I need to make it run fast and have no problems.
Like anyone knows of a free antivirus plan? Or what pic games can I use. I mean if I go to the thrift store and I see games like I don't know doom for a dollar will it work if I install it?
I know for a lot these are stupid questions but I'm new at this so let me know.
I'll find out later in a day or two what model it is and if anyone can help me with it that would be great
samsonlonghair
Next-Gen
Location: Now: Newport News, VA. Formerly: Richmond. Before that: Near the WV/VA border

Re: FINALLY I'm getting a laptop for xmas

Post by samsonlonghair »

A "gaming laptop" typically means a laptop with its own graphics card as opposed to a laptop with onboard graphics from the motherboard. If your father in law's laptop didn't already come with an independent graphics card, you're not likely to fit one into that small space. That doesn't mean that all is lost. Plenty of old games run fine on a modern processor without an independent graphics card. Shoot for games about ten years old or more. Think Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, Rainbow Six: Vegas, original Bioshock or older.

Do upgrade the RAM. You can always use more RAM. There's no such thing as too much RAM.

Free antivirus? There's plenty. Avast is popular. I like Malware Bytes Anti-malware. I think AVG also has a free anitivirus option.