Tips on strategy games

RTS, FPS, Sports, Adventure, etc.
puke_face

Tips on strategy games

Post by puke_face »

I love playing strategy games, be it in video games or in real life (chess for example). The only problem is I'm not very good at them, which can quickly lead to frustration. How do you guys try to better yourselves in strategic gaming? This includes any type of strategy game, from board games to SRPG to RTS. Please enlighten me :)
Ack

Re: Tips on strategy games

Post by Ack »

Keep in mind that playing a computer is different than a person. If you are playing people, the battle is often one through psychological warfare, or at least it can play a heavy part. I had a friend who specialized in pissing people off when playing games for the sole purpose of making them play poorly. It worked most of the time and built him a reputation which did all the work for him eventually.
DinnerX
Next-Gen

Post by DinnerX »

It's hard to be general in advice.

Pretty much every game has basic strategies that are easy to understand. Look them up on the fansites/wikis for the game.

For many strategy games, you need to predict the reactions to your moves and plan accordingly. The more you play a game, the more you know about people's reactions.

If it's a game with several different units, try to roughly memorize the properties of each unit and how effectively they match up against other units.
Since this signature affects old posts, I'm leaving a message here in case anyone searches for my username. This account died in early 2013. I am no longer a fundamentalist.

Don't add to my problems by pretending my past views are still held in the present. I do not have any patience for that. Feel free to ask me what I think now.
Erik_Twice
Next-Gen

Post by Erik_Twice »

There's no advice that fits all games. There's very little in common between, say, Starcraft ,Railroad Tycoon and Fire Emblem.
Looking for a cool game? Find it in my blog!