PS2: hard or soft mod?

Discuss all hardware and software modifications
Hatta
Next-Gen

PS2: hard or soft mod?

Post by Hatta »

Is there any reason to prefer a PS2 mod chip over a memory card with Free MC boot?

Once you have FreeMC boot, is there any point to having a boot disc like swap magic or hd advance?
We are prepared to live in the plain and die in the plain!
ThunderPrince
24-bit

Re: PS2: hard or soft mod?

Post by ThunderPrince »

what is freeMC boot?
is it cheaper than Swap Magic? I was thinking of buying that.
Mozgus
Next-Gen

Post by Mozgus »

I keep my swap magic around as an emergency backup means to reinstall FreeMCBoot if I ever fuck it up. But really, FreeMCBoot can do nearly everything a mod chip can, as long as you do a little studying and learn the methods required.
nickfil
Next-Gen

Post by nickfil »

Can you load off of a harddrive with freemcboot or just burns? I'm completely new to softmodding the ps2. I kind of thought it couldn't be done.
Citizin
24-bit

Post by Citizin »

Any opinions on what's the best software to use for installing/playing games off of a hardrive?
Mozgus
Next-Gen

Post by Mozgus »

ThunderPrince wrote:what is freeMC boot?
is it cheaper than Swap Magic? I was thinking of buying that.

nickfil wrote:Can you load off of a harddrive with freemcboot or just burns? I'm completely new to softmodding the ps2. I kind of thought it couldn't be done.

Citizin wrote:Any opinions on what's the best software to use for installing/playing games off of a hardrive?

Guys, come on. :x

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=6136
nickfil
Next-Gen

Post by nickfil »

Mozgus wrote:Guys, come on. :x

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=6136

i heart you moz! Turn that frown upside down!

no but thanks for the link. I should've searched for it.
Hatta
Next-Gen

Post by Hatta »

No kidding Moz. I hesitated to ask my question for that reason, but I had some trouble finding a good summary of features.