Emu Talk Goes Here
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 10102
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

by marurun Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:58 pm

GSZX1337, you don't know what a Celeron is, do you...

Celeron is traditionally Intel's name for slightly reduced power (and thus cost) version of their regular chips. Celerons are basically the same as their other CPUs, just with reduced L2 cache.

Here's a link to Wikipedia for more information:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celeron

The EEE PC's CPU is a Celeron version of the Pentium M. The Pentium M is no Core, but it's better than the P3 and the P4.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_In ... C_90_nm.29
B/S/T thread
My Classic Games Collection
My Steam Profile
The PC Engine Software Bible Forum, with Shoutbox chat - the new Internet home for PC Engine fandom.
User avatar
GSZX1337
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5805
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Madison, TN

by GSZX1337 Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:14 pm

marurun wrote:GSZX1337, you don't know what a Celeron is, do you...

Celeron is traditionally Intel's name for slightly reduced power (and thus cost) version of their regular chips. Celerons are basically the same as their other CPUs, just with reduced L2 cache.

Here's a link to Wikipedia for more information:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celeron

The EEE PC's CPU is a Celeron version of the Pentium M. The Pentium M is no Core, but it's better than the P3 and the P4.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_In ... C_90_nm.29

Hmm, I didn't realize that the Celerons were actually re-badged Pentiums. Might have to look at the newer ones.
Jubal
64-bit
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:42 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

by Jubal Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:22 pm

marurun wrote:GSZX1337, you don't know what a Celeron is, do you...


in his defense, brand identification can be a 2 edged sword.

in this case he thinks anything branded celeron is crap cause he had a crappy dell or gateway or whatever with a celeron 'inside' that gave him probs. might be the issues he had with his celeron were just hardware component conflicts or a virus or a faulty stick of ram.

they don't put a sticker on the box saying who made your motherboard or ram, but most of the premade PCs have a processor sticker on em.
User avatar
GSZX1337
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5805
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Madison, TN

by GSZX1337 Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:54 am

Jubal wrote:
marurun wrote:GSZX1337, you don't know what a Celeron is, do you...


in his defense, brand identification can be a 2 edged sword.

in this case he thinks anything branded celeron is crap cause he had a crappy dell or gateway or whatever with a celeron 'inside' that gave him probs.

Actually, I used many computers with Celerons (ie. at libraries and schools, etc.), my parents had an HP with a Celeron and my friend built his first 'puter with a Celeron. The Celerons varied in clock speeds going from 800MHz to around 1.8GHz. Most of the ones at the libraries and schools had about 256MB of RAM and was perfectly capable of running Windows. One of the compies (a teacher's) was frequently defragged, disk cleaned, scanned for malware, etc. and it still ran slow in applications.

In my school, there were two Dells sitting next to each other, one had a Celeron and the other had a P4. They were pretty similar (256MB of RAM, same HDD space, Integrated Intel Graphics, etc.) and the one with a P4 blew the other away in apps like Photoshop, Flash, etc. Now, I don't remember the clock speeds, so that might be the deciding factor.

My friend's computer had a Celeron in it. I don't remember much about the specs, except that we had the same video card and each of us had 1GB of RAM. He stated: "Getting a Celeron was the biggest mistake I've ever made." I never seen him extensivley test it other than noticing that browsers ran a little slow, apps not responding fast enough. He eventually upgraded the CPU to a P4 (if he changed the mobo I don't know, he never mentioned it, but I remember I was talking to a Computer Shop owner that said that each of Intel's chips had a different socket.) and again, it was much better.

Basically, I don't want to use a Celeron because every one I've used, I've had a bad experience with, and everyone I knew who used one hated it. I don't know if I've only used "the crappy chips" or if they've gotten better since I'm more of an AMD guy.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9472
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:00 pm

Didn't the first Celeron didn't even have a L2 cache. That got the brand off to a rough start....
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9472
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:03 pm

GSZX1337 wrote:
devilmyarse wrote:What is homebrew support like for the m3 real though? Most homebrew now supports r4ds. The rumble adaptor seems pretty cool to have included in the bundle but the r4ds supports slot-2 flash and rumble so I can't see how it's better? What is the price of the m3real compared to r4ds?


Well, I haven't gotten the M3 Real yet (the site I ordered it through is a oke when it comes to Holiday demand) but according to the review:
"Homebrew compatibility is very good with the M3 DS Real. There is a DLDI driver for the card that supports both read and write & patch homebrew with DLDI patch automatically."

The price for an R4 by its lonesome is the same as the price for an M3 Real with it's RAM/Rumble pack.
GBA NDS gave the R4 a 9.2 and the M3 Real a 9.6. The M3 has better download play compatibility than the R4 (every game tested worked with the M3R). The R4 (as far as I've seen) doesn't support HC Micro SD cards whereas the M3 does. Also from what I've seen, I don't think that it would be worth it to buy an M3 Real if you already have the R4.


I just ordered a CycloDS Evolution.
And the flash card setup doesn't really matter for homebrew -- it's written for the DS, not the flash card. The only difference is some of the older cards require you to patch the homebrew before playing.
Jubal
64-bit
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:42 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

by Jubal Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:07 am

racketboy wrote:I just ordered a CycloDS Evolution.
And the flash card setup doesn't really matter for homebrew -- it's written for the DS, not the flash card. The only difference is some of the older cards require you to patch the homebrew before playing.


hey racketboy, was there a particular reason you went with the CycloDS over the M3 Real?
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9472
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:51 am

Jubal wrote:
racketboy wrote:I just ordered a CycloDS Evolution.
And the flash card setup doesn't really matter for homebrew -- it's written for the DS, not the flash card. The only difference is some of the older cards require you to patch the homebrew before playing.


hey racketboy, was there a particular reason you went with the CycloDS over the M3 Real?


It was in stock and I've heard good things about it.
Return to Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests