Gaming on the Playstation and Xbox Platforms
Xelyx
32-bit
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Sistersville, West Virginia

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Xelyx Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:42 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
alienjesus wrote:The PS2 is by no means a 'better' PS1 in terms of compatability, but it handles the vast majority of PS1 stuff OK.


The PS2 is most certainly a better PS1. Sure, compatibility isn't 100%, but it's close to it. And the games that do work, work better than OK. The PS2 will load PS1 games faster than an actual PS1 (especially those PS1s whose drives are on their way out). The PS2 will also output component video (PS1 only did RGB) as well as digital audio.

When I was playing through Final Fantasy VII, I started on my PS1. My PS1 wouldn't load the second disc, so I had to switch to using my PS2 to finish the game.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but the component cable I bought for my PS2 doesn't seem to work when I try to play PS1 games. I get audio but no video?
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13008
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Ziggy587 Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:54 pm

Xelyx wrote:
Ziggy587 wrote:
alienjesus wrote:The PS2 is by no means a 'better' PS1 in terms of compatability, but it handles the vast majority of PS1 stuff OK.


The PS2 is most certainly a better PS1. Sure, compatibility isn't 100%, but it's close to it. And the games that do work, work better than OK. The PS2 will load PS1 games faster than an actual PS1 (especially those PS1s whose drives are on their way out). The PS2 will also output component video (PS1 only did RGB) as well as digital audio.

When I was playing through Final Fantasy VII, I started on my PS1. My PS1 wouldn't load the second disc, so I had to switch to using my PS2 to finish the game.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but the component cable I bought for my PS2 doesn't seem to work when I try to play PS1 games. I get audio but no video?


Are you using an HDTV? That could be why. Some PS1 games are 240p, which was never really intended to be used over component cables. Some HDTVs will not accept a 240p signal on the component video input, but some will.
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
Xelyx
32-bit
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Sistersville, West Virginia

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Xelyx Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:07 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:Are you using an HDTV? That could be why. Some PS1 games are 240p, which was never really intended to be used over component cables. Some HDTVs will not accept a 240p signal on the component video input, but some will.

That's probably the reason. I'll have to keep an eye out for an HD Trinitron.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13008
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Ziggy587 Sun Jan 03, 2016 4:46 pm

Xelyx wrote:
Ziggy587 wrote:Are you using an HDTV? That could be why. Some PS1 games are 240p, which was never really intended to be used over component cables. Some HDTVs will not accept a 240p signal on the component video input, but some will.

That's probably the reason. I'll have to keep an eye out for an HD Trinitron.


Or an HDTV that can do 240p over component... They're not uncommon. By pure luck, my last two (and only two) HDTVs could both do 240p over component.
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
Xelyx
32-bit
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Sistersville, West Virginia

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Xelyx Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:22 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
Xelyx wrote:
Ziggy587 wrote:Are you using an HDTV? That could be why. Some PS1 games are 240p, which was never really intended to be used over component cables. Some HDTVs will not accept a 240p signal on the component video input, but some will.

That's probably the reason. I'll have to keep an eye out for an HD Trinitron.


Or an HDTV that can do 240p over component... They're not uncommon. By pure luck, my last two (and only two) HDTVs could both do 240p over component.

Is there any way to tell before purchasing one? Other than doing a Google search on the model, I mean.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13008
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Ziggy587 Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:36 pm

Xelyx wrote:Is there any way to tell before purchasing one? Other than doing a Google search on the model, I mean.


Well if you're buying one in a store, a PS2 is actually what a lot of people recommend. It's the quickest and easiest way to test. Most stores wont have a problem with you doing this. Bring a PS2 with component cables and a PS1 game that does 240p. Test it on the TV you're looking to buy.

If you're buying online, then yeah, you're gonna have to Google it. It's worth checking some things online anyway. There's a website dedicated to lag times...

http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/

Worth checking a TV before you buy one, just in case it has horrible lag.
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
mas
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 5:22 pm
Location: ma

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by mas Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:09 pm

I would rather play ps1 games on a ps1. Nothing like hearing that start up screen. Almost as close as the dream cast boot up screen. Both wonderful to hear
User avatar
samsonlonghair
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:11 pm
Location: Now: Newport News, VA. Formerly: Richmond. Before that: Near the WV/VA border

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by samsonlonghair Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:07 am

A few of my favorite PS1 games don't play on PS2. Namely nuclear strike and Mortal Kombat Trilogy.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13008
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Ziggy587 Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:59 am

samsonlonghair wrote:A few of my favorite PS1 games don't play on PS2. Namely nuclear strike and Mortal Kombat Trilogy.


From what I've read, Nuclear Strike works on PS2 with the exception of the SCPH-75001 Slim model. This specific model PS2 has the longest list of incompatible PS1 games. It's also the only PS2 to have a list of incompatible PS2 games!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_P ... yStation_2

Also, in regards to MK Trilogy, that page says, "The game will only freeze on a PlayStation 2 if the "BUY IN SCREEN" option is set to OFF."
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
Xelyx
32-bit
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Sistersville, West Virginia

Re: PS1 unnecessary?

by Xelyx Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:09 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
Xelyx wrote:Is there any way to tell before purchasing one? Other than doing a Google search on the model, I mean.


Well if you're buying one in a store, a PS2 is actually what a lot of people recommend. It's the quickest and easiest way to test. Most stores wont have a problem with you doing this. Bring a PS2 with component cables and a PS1 game that does 240p. Test it on the TV you're looking to buy.

If you're buying online, then yeah, you're gonna have to Google it. It's worth checking some things online anyway. There's a website dedicated to lag times...

http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/

Worth checking a TV before you buy one, just in case it has horrible lag.

That's probably what I'll do. A good friend of mine works in the Electronics department of the local Walmart, so it definitely won't be an issue.
Return to Sony and Microsoft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests