Page 2 of 2

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:40 pm
by Sato
I'm fine just chipping it really. If I won't notice the 1% difference it'll have on NTSC stuff then I don't mind. Importing stuff is extremely cheap for that console as well, so I'm cool replacing the stuff I currently have with NTSC copies!

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:21 pm
by emwearz
Ziggy587 wrote:Or make it easier and just import an NTSC PS1 as well. They can be had for very cheap these days, especially one without any hookups or controllers or anything.

Because the PSU is internal, you will need a step down converter, which will cost more than the PS1 is worth.

Chipping is the better way to go in my opinion.

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:27 pm
by Ziggy587
emwearz wrote:
Ziggy587 wrote:Or make it easier and just import an NTSC PS1 as well. They can be had for very cheap these days, especially one without any hookups or controllers or anything.

Because the PSU is internal, you will need a step down converter, which will cost more than the PS1 is worth.

Chipping is the better way to go in my opinion.


Ahhhhhhhh, right. Forgot about that. Good call. PS1 chips are cheap, and fairly easy to install.

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:06 pm
by Hobie-wan
emwearz wrote:Because the PSU is internal, you will need a step down converter, which will cost more than the PS1 is worth.


But of course it can be used with other things too.

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:34 pm
by Ziggy587
Hobie-wan wrote:
emwearz wrote:Because the PSU is internal, you will need a step down converter, which will cost more than the PS1 is worth.


But of course it can be used with other things too.


Actually, I wonder if the internal PSU on the PS1s can input 110-240v.

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:06 pm
by emwearz
I know the PAL systems don't, would need someone in the states to confirm the NTSC model, but don't see why it would.

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:59 pm
by Hobie-wan
emwearz wrote:I know the PAL systems don't, would need someone in the states to confirm the NTSC model, but don't see why it would.


FWIW, the early J Dreamcasts do. 120-240v, 50 or 60 hertz.

But no, I checked an NTSC PS1 1001, 7001, and 7501. All 120v 60 hz only.

Re: PAL PS1 games at 60hz

Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 6:21 pm
by Ziggy587
FWIW, the PSone has an external power supply. So one could import an NTSC PSone then just get the appropriate power adapter in their region.