XRGB-mini Framemeister Questions

Discuss all hardware and software modifications
kidfresh
24-bit

XRGB-mini Framemeister Questions

Post by kidfresh »

So, I'm trying to convince myself to give up CRT's and move on the XRGB-mini. A couple things have been hard to find any thing on, at least from a quick google search, and if anyone can help me out, it'd be super groovy and appreciated. I know there's XRGB-mini users on this site.

**EDIT: Anyone have experience with running RGB Dreamcast through this? Is it as good as VGA once you finally have it sent through the Mini?

Does anyone know where I could find a component to d5 connector? I have seen these cords around, I just can't seem to find one.

Is European SCART what is used in the US, or is there a version of SCART for NTSC?

Sorry for being all noob-ish about this! I'm new to this fancy video processing stuff.
pierrot
Next-Gen

Re: XRGB-mini Framemeister Questions

Post by pierrot »

I haven't bothered with RGB on the dreamcast yet. (My tv seems to process the VGA picture well enough, and for anything that I can't at least force into VGA, s-video looks pretty good through the mini.) If you wanted to use your Dreamcast exclusively through the mini, you'll probably want to look into the Hanzo.

Component (Female) to D-Terminal - http://www.solarisjapan.com/d-terminal-to-component-adapter-cable-female/

If you bought your scart cables from Ebay, or something, and they weren't specifically the official RGB cables, you more than likely have Euro scart. The mini din to 21-pin converter is easily re-wired, though. Here is pretty much all you would need for that: JP RGB | EU RGB SCART
bmoc
Next-Gen

Post by bmoc »

For your purposes, there are two kinds of SCART. Euro and Japanese. The connector is exactly the same but the pins are wired differently. Plugging a Euro SCART cable into a Japanese SCART device (and vice versa) can potentially damage your device.