Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
Segata
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2453
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:19 pm

Traceroute? How? What huh?

by Segata Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:59 pm

So Giant Bomb is no help to me trying to solve this issue so far but I am told maybe why I can't access videos is because my network is blocking it. I was told to do a traceroute. I don't know what that is. I googled it and I am even more confused. The poster at GB gave me this giantbomb-pdl.akamaized.net but my PC just says not an internal program so I dunno what I am doing. This is driving me crazy. Everything was working yesterday then suddenly nothing was on GB.
Image
Dreamcast is love,Dreamcast is life!
Image
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by bmoc Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:06 pm

Open up a command prompt and type:
tracert giantbomb-pdl.akamaized.net

It will show you how many hops are between you and giantbomb-pdl.akamaized.net. Eventually it will start showing timeout entries. Tell that guy the last IP address that is displayed before it starts timing out. That is is last hop before the connection failure and it will help him diagnose the problem.
User avatar
Segata
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2453
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:19 pm

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by Segata Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:11 pm

Well just asked a friend to log in my account from across town and they can't view any vids so seems like an account thing and 1 day later no one on the actual staff will help me but I see them posting on regular topics. This is just annoying the hell out of me.
Image
Dreamcast is love,Dreamcast is life!
Image
User avatar
isiolia
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5780
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 1:52 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by isiolia Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:21 pm

The command in Windows (as mentioned above) is tracert - traceroute is what it would be for *nix. That's why it's throwing an error for you.

That said, usually when I've seen people have issues with video content not loading, it's specific to the browser. So I'd try a different one if you haven't and/or go grab the latest installer for the browser you're using to ensure it's up to date.
User avatar
Segata
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2453
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:19 pm

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by Segata Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:57 pm

Well, this is a huge mess no one can solve. Everything has been done. New browsers. Accounts. DNS. API. Factory resets on routers and everything set and rebooted. DNS's flushed. New accounts, uninstalling reinstalling anything and everything. Giant Bomb says it's Google Fiber and GF says it's Giant Bomb. Literally, no one can figure this out.
Image
Dreamcast is love,Dreamcast is life!
Image
User avatar
MrPopo
Moderator
 
Posts: 23232
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:01 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by MrPopo Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:09 pm

I'll tell you a secret. It's probably Giant Bomb's fault, but no one on their end actually wants to look into it. The hardest thing in network troubleshooting is to actually get someone to actually look into shit.
Image
Blizzard Entertainment Software Developer - All comments and views are my own and not representative of the company.
User avatar
Exhuminator
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11573
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:24 am

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by Exhuminator Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:31 pm

Did the Giant Bomb videos used to work for you, and suddenly they stopped working? Or have they never worked?
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
User avatar
Segata
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2453
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:19 pm

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by Segata Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:34 pm

Exhuminator wrote:Did the Giant Bomb videos used to work for you, and suddenly they stopped working? Or have they never worked?

Suddenly stopped working.
Image
Dreamcast is love,Dreamcast is life!
Image
User avatar
Xeogred
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 14385
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: KC

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by Xeogred Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:41 pm

Firefox had a weird change recently with Flash I think. My friend said he had to right click videos on DramaFever and turn hardware acceleration on or off to fix it. Some other weird stuff. He said the WWE Network videos are just a black screen not working for him at all. So it might not just be you, no idea though.

MrPopo wrote:I'll tell you a secret. It's probably Giant Bomb's fault, but no one on their end actually wants to look into it. The hardest thing in network troubleshooting is to actually get someone to actually look into shit.

Rorie is probably too busy min maxing stuff in WoW to read emails.
User avatar
Exhuminator
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11573
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:24 am

Re: Traceroute? How? What huh?

by Exhuminator Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 pm

If you haven't done it yet, I would uninstall Adobe Flash Player, reboot. Run a good registry cleaner, reboot. Reinstall Adobe Flash Player, reboot. Try to watch Giant Bomb videos.

If you've already done that, and it still doesn't work, we can only blame Jeff Gerstmann.
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests