Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
BOBdotEXE
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 1:27 am

[help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by BOBdotEXE Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:59 pm

Long story short, I managed to get a fairly good looking SNES shell fairly cheap,
It has all the proper components internally, but it fails to read any carts (despite cleaning/swapping pins).
It just boots to a black screen.
So I had two sfc's, so I took apart my buggy sfc, and put it in the snes shell,
before closing it up all the way, I booted it up with a game,
(with the usa controller plug part connected)
And when I started it, it blew the main fuse!

That was odd, I was using an OEM sfc power supply, could the USA controller connector have caused the issue?

I tried bridging to bypass the fuse, and It would only flash the power light on boot. (dose not start game)

I don't mind buying another SFC down the line, I just want to know what caused the issue, so I'll know if it's worth trying again.
User avatar
samsonlonghair
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:11 pm
Location: Now: Newport News, VA. Formerly: Richmond. Before that: Near the WV/VA border

Re: [help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by samsonlonghair Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:18 am

BOBdotEXE wrote:could the USA controller connector have caused the issue?

Hi BOBdotEXE. Good of you to join us from Mainframe.

USA SNES controllers and Super Famicom controllers are interchangeable. There should be no problem plugging a USA controller into a Super Famicom. I do not believe this is the root cause of your concerns.
User avatar
BOBdotEXE
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 1:27 am

Re: [help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by BOBdotEXE Fri Jul 29, 2016 11:00 am

samsonlonghair wrote:
BOBdotEXE wrote:could the USA controller connector have caused the issue?

Hi BOBdotEXE. Good of you to join us from Mainframe.

USA SNES controllers and Super Famicom controllers are interchangeable. There should be no problem plugging a USA controller into a Super Famicom. I do not believe this is the root cause of your concerns.

Thanks, But I meant to say the controller connector the part the connects to the main board via a ribbon cable, it has the two controller ports and the power led.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13254
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: [help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by Ziggy587 Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:52 pm

BOBdotEXE wrote:I tried bridging to bypass the fuse, and It would only flash the power light on boot.


This is always, always, a bad idea.

The fuse is there for protection. Never replace a fuse with a wire or jumper. If the fuse blew, it blew for a reason. Bridging it will mean there is no protection, so whatever blew the fuse in the first place, next time instead of blowing the fuse some components might get fried (most of which aren't replaceable).

I highly suggest removing the bridge and doing nothing until you can install a replacement fuse. Bridging the fuse will cause damage to the system, if it hasn't already.

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/e ... -ND/700725

This is true for all electronics: After removing the power adapter, turn the power switch ON and leave it on for at least a full minute. This will drain any residual power. If you fail to do this and start poking around inside a SNES, it's very easy to blow the fuse.
Image

My Sale Thread - PRICES REDUCED! I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
User avatar
BOBdotEXE
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 1:27 am

Re: [help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by BOBdotEXE Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:44 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
BOBdotEXE wrote:I tried bridging to bypass the fuse, and It would only flash the power light on boot.


This is always, always, a bad idea.

The fuse is there for protection. Never replace a fuse with a wire or jumper. If the fuse blew, it blew for a reason. Bridging it will mean there is no protection, so whatever blew the fuse in the first place, next time instead of blowing the fuse some components might get fried (most of which aren't replaceable).

I highly suggest removing the bridge and doing nothing until you can install a replacement fuse. Bridging the fuse will cause damage to the system, if it hasn't already.

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/e ... -ND/700725

This is true for all electronics: After removing the power adapter, turn the power switch ON and leave it on for at least a full minute. This will drain any residual power. If you fail to do this and start poking around inside a SNES, it's very easy to blow the fuse.


Ok, thanks I will do that.

Do you think it was the usa controller dock that cased the issue?
I figured they should be the same, but I do know that the usa and JP systems use a different voltage.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13254
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: [help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by Ziggy587 Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:04 pm

BOBdotEXE wrote:Do you think it was the usa controller dock that cased the issue?
I figured they should be the same, but I do know that the usa and JP systems use a different voltage.


The power adapter output specs are slightly different, but the NTSC-U SNES and SFC are mostly the same internally.
Image

My Sale Thread - PRICES REDUCED! I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
User avatar
ApolloBoy
128-bit
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:56 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: [help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by ApolloBoy Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:42 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
BOBdotEXE wrote:Do you think it was the usa controller dock that cased the issue?
I figured they should be the same, but I do know that the usa and JP systems use a different voltage.


The power adapter output specs are slightly different, but the NTSC-U SNES and SFC are mostly the same internally.

The output specs are actually the same, just a different connector. Otherwise the SNES and Super Fami are literally exactly the same internally.
Own: 2600, 2DS, 2DS XL, 360 S, 5200, 7800, 800, 800XL, AES, Amiga 600, C64, C64C, CV, DC, Duo-R, GB, GBA, GBA SP, GBC, GBP, Genesis 2, GG, JP SMS, Lynx, Mark III, Mega CD II, MD, MSX2+, N64, NES, NES top loader, Nomad, PCE, PSX, PS2, RetroUSB AVS, SAT, SFC, SG-1000 II, SMS, SNES mini, Switch, TE, Twin Fami, VIC-20, Wii, XEGS
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13254
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: [help?] Anyone tried putting a SFC in an SNES shell?

by Ziggy587 Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:55 pm

I thought NTSC-U power adapters were 10v, and SFC and PAL SNES were 9v.

edit: I was wrong...

viewtopic.php?p=954776#p954776

PAL is 9v though.
Image

My Sale Thread - PRICES REDUCED! I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests