Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
Glitch42
8-bit
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:45 am
Location: PAL

Recording Gameplay: EasyCap?

by Glitch42 Tue May 10, 2016 12:18 am

I want to record gameplay for upload on YouTube. I'm not that serious about it so I don't want to invest too much cash into it. Also I'm not very good at the hardware side of gaming so I came across this thing called EasyCap.

I was wondering if it was any good; it doesn't have to be the highest quality (just to be able to see what's going on etc.) and as long as it doesn't have too much lag it should be fine.

I'd also like to know what consoles it can record. I'd like it to record PS2, PS3 and it would be great if it could do Wii and other kinds would be just a bonus.
My consoles are in PAL.

So what do you think, is it worth the $12 bucks?
It’s Not A Glitch. It’s A Feature. It’s Art. It’s Beautiful ~Sandy Mathes
User avatar
emwearz
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Recording Gameplay: EasyCap?

by emwearz Tue May 10, 2016 1:55 am

Utter shit and that captures at a nice muddy 480i.
User avatar
Glitch42
8-bit
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:45 am
Location: PAL

Re: Recording Gameplay: EasyCap?

by Glitch42 Mon May 23, 2016 3:26 am

emwearz wrote:Utter shit and that captures at a nice muddy 480i.


Yeh, I knew it would be crap (in comparison to more expensive gear), but can you see the images and is it better quality to filming with a camera pointed at the screen (which is very shit).
It’s Not A Glitch. It’s A Feature. It’s Art. It’s Beautiful ~Sandy Mathes
User avatar
emwearz
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Recording Gameplay: EasyCap?

by emwearz Mon May 23, 2016 6:53 pm

Well you would have to run your PS3 console at 480i to record from it, so it will look horrible and is not worth recording the console at that resolution as well as the fact it will not be as enjoyable to play.

It is a step up from recording a screen for sure, you usually have to use the line in from your PC as the easycaps audio drivers never seem to work for people. IF you want something cheap to play with, go for it. However anyone who has ever used one will tell you, it is not worth the time.

On youtube when I see someone using an easycap (you can tell) or recording from a screen with a camera, I tend to just close the video.
User avatar
Glitch42
8-bit
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:45 am
Location: PAL

Re: Recording Gameplay: EasyCap?

by Glitch42 Tue May 24, 2016 12:06 am

PS3 in 450i would probably be horrible but I think I might just go for it and see what happens. Thanks for all the info though :)
It’s Not A Glitch. It’s A Feature. It’s Art. It’s Beautiful ~Sandy Mathes
User avatar
Fragems
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5430
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:01 am
Location: Proctorville, OH

Re: Recording Gameplay: EasyCap?

by Fragems Tue May 24, 2016 10:31 am

Save up and get an Elgato HD or something along those lines the lower end video capture devices are really poor quality and just a waste of time. Back when I was recording some stuff I tried multiple setups to try and save cash and never really got any of them working at a level that I felt was acceptable. Unless your looking to do something simple like convert some old VHS tapes to digital the lower end stuff is ultimately a waste of time and money.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests