Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
AshleyG.64
8-bit
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:14 pm

Atari 2600 video cable?

by AshleyG.64 Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:21 pm

I bought an Atari 2600 (the Jr. Rainbow one) from a garage sale. I took it home and realized the guy gave me the wrong video cord. :cry: Is there a good online store that sells old school video game cords/parts?

What should I do???
:?:
Image
User avatar
flojocabron
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4155
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:15 am
Location: on the border

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by flojocabron Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:11 am

hi there new person!

any old yellow/red/white av cable will work. Get one at a dollar store or break one up.

Do you also get the little switch box?

You can push that into the cable and hook it up to the tv provided you have the adapter to push into the back of the tv.

old tvs only had the two wires and that doesnt exist anymore.

If you want to skip the whole switch box thing, you can go to radio shack and get a small adapter. Its a couple of bucks and you can screw the cable directly to your tv.

Always glad to see a new face here on racketboy! :)
2600 and jr,5200,nes/top loader, master system, intellivision, TG-16, genesis 1,2,3, SNES, snesJR, CDX, 3DOfz10, gamegear, gameboy and pocket, GBC, sega saturn, PSOne w/screen, Virtual Boy, N64, NGPC, Gameboy Advance sp, Dreamcast, Black Dreamcast, oXBOX, Playstation 2, PStwo, Gamecube, gameboy player, DS lite,DSi XL, PSP1000/3000,Wii,PS3 120gb,3DSXL, xbox 360, PSvita, PS4
User avatar
AshleyG.64
8-bit
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by AshleyG.64 Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:54 am

I have a video cord with the red and yellow plugs, but it didnt work when i tried to plug it in. Ill try the adapter! Thanks!
Image
User avatar
KDub
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 11:47 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by KDub Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:50 am

Get yourself one of these
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... Id=2103471

And any Phono (RCA) cable will do fine
User avatar
CRTGAMER
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by CRTGAMER Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:05 pm

KDub is correct, its RF and not a composite video connection even though an RCA jack.

Depending which cable you prefer, you can go two routes for a direct shielded connection.

RF Cable - to the Atari console
Image


RCA Cable - to the TV coaxial input
Image
Image
CRT vs LCD - Hardware Mods - HDAdvance - Custom Controllers - Game Storage - Wii Gamecube and other Guides:
CRTGAMER Guides in Board Guides Index: http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1109425#p1109425

Image
Image
User avatar
AshleyG.64
8-bit
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by AshleyG.64 Sat Jul 28, 2012 7:34 pm

Of course the radio shack next to my house didn't have the adapter.
:|
The search continues!!! :mrgreen:
Image
User avatar
KDub
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 11:47 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by KDub Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:14 pm

Did you ask them or did you actually look? In my experience they will tell you they don't carry stuff like that because they are idiots.

True story:
A guy came into the game store I work at and asked if we had an RF switch for the Atari after going to Radio Shack. They told him the only way he would ever find parts for that would be to come to us or a similar store. We didn't have any so I gave him the part number/description. He went back down and found it. He comes back to the store and the guys at The Shack laughed at him when he told the store about it because and I quote "That will never work".

Just do a google search for the part and buy whatever store has it cheapest. Amazon, Trade N Games, eBay...they will all have it. By time you find another electronics part store that carries it you'll spend more time and money on gas than just ordering it.
User avatar
AshleyG.64
8-bit
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:14 pm

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by AshleyG.64 Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:57 pm

I showed them a picture of what I wanted and why I needed it. They ran around the whole store and couldn't find it. :roll:
Yeah I'll just go online. They seemed a little unorganized and clueless when I asked them at Radio Shack.
Oh well. :lol:

Thank you for the help!! <3
Image
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9494
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by racketboy Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:22 am

What's the best way to upscale this for a more modern TV?
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 10384
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by marurun Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:28 am

I don't know that most external upscalers will take an RF signal, so you may have to attach it to the analog RF input on your TV and just let the TV do the upscaling.
B/S/T thread
My Classic Games Collection
My Steam Profile
The PC Engine Software Bible Forum, with Shoutbox chat - the new Internet home for PC Engine fandom.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest