Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13365
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by Ziggy587 Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:07 am

racketboy wrote:What's the best way to upscale this for a more modern TV?


This is one of those times when best and cheapest are on opposite ends.

If you're using an external scaler, you're NOT using RF. That'd be like going to a fancy Italian restaurant and asking where SpaghettiOs are on the menu.

Best way is to mod the console to output a better AV signal than RF then use a decent upscaler like an XRGB. RF from an Atari into an HDTV is gonna look like pooh, and the Atari only outputs RF, so the only option is to mod. For the DIYer, a simple composite video mod can be very cheap. There's a ton of different version of composite and S-Video Atari mods on the net, most of them are very cheap to do. This RGB mod (which will also get you composite and S-Video) is about $50 USD, but that's really not a lot compared to some other AV mods.

http://retrorgb.com/atari.html

Of course, if you can't do the mods yourself, you'll have to pay someone to do it for you. But I couldn't imagine someone charging a whole lot for a simple composite mod, so I would go that route if you're light on funds. It'll at least be loads better than RF. S-Video or RGB would be best though.

If you're after better video quality for retro consoles on HDTVs, you might consider getting something like the XRGB Framemeister anyway. It'll make ALL your retro consoles look better on an HDTV, not just the Atari. That has to be considered in the cost of it.

Depending on how attached you are to the Atari, some kind of emulation like RetroPi would be a lot easier and cheaper. Of course, I completely understand the desire to use real hardware, but I just wanted to point that out.
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

Mod & Repair Services - For Racketboy members only. I can mod and repair items, build custom items, and more!
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9495
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by racketboy Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:36 pm

That works -- thank you!
User avatar
CRTGAMER
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by CRTGAMER Sun Aug 27, 2017 1:31 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:Best way is to mod the console to output a better AV signal than RF then use a decent upscaler like an XRGB.

RF from an Atari into an HDTV is gonna look like pooh, and the Atari only outputs RF, so the only option is to mod.

Are there any HDTVs produced that still support the older analog channels? The quick cheap plug in fix would be a VCR to convert the Atari analog RF to composite. Though the VHS tapes are dead a few generations ago; the vintage player still has a use.

The Atari console mod from RF to composite is well worth as an inexpensive upgrade; easily under ten bucks. Plug in direct or invest in an upscaler box. Going the upscaler box encourages looking into more expensive SVideo or even RGB mod. Before buying the dedicated upscaler box see how bad the upscale is when direct plugged into HDTV. The larger the screen, the worst the upscale will be apparent.

Any non HD TV channels or even better; hook up a portable Jakks PlugNPlay will give an idea on the HDTV built in upscaler quality. This could help to determine which route to take for the Atari console mod.
Image
CRT vs LCD - Hardware Mods - HDAdvance - Custom Controllers - Game Storage - Wii Gamecube and other Guides:
CRTGAMER Guides in Board Guides Index: http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1109425#p1109425

Image
Image
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 10399
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Atari 2600 video cable?

by marurun Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:24 pm

My Vizio TV that's a model from 3 years ago has coax input and scans for digital and analog signals. I imagine that's still common today. That will read RF just fine.
B/S/T thread
My Classic Games Collection
My Steam Profile
The PC Engine Software Bible Forum, with Shoutbox chat - the new Internet home for PC Engine fandom.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests