Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
skate323k137
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by skate323k137 Tue May 19, 2009 9:12 am

Mod_Man_Extreme wrote:This 'Sync on Green' crap from Sony is really starting to piss me off. My HDTV (JVC) supports RGB from all my consoles (including my PS3) except from my PS2. Tge fact that pretty much only Sony's own TV sets (I don't know if this is different for PC monitors) support 'Sync on Green' makes me even more furious.


It is a bitch, I hear you there. I have a 21 inch w/o sync on green and a 19 with it. I leave the 21 tated for my dreamcast, but would love to use that monitor with my PS2's.

A sync seperator can be wired in to the adapter, but it requires its own +5v, and for the number of titles I play that support progressive scan (5 or 10) it wasn't worth the hastle.

I thought the PS3 was SOG if you used RGB, do you have a special cable or are you just using a high resolution component video, or was I misinformed? (it was at gamesx/nfg when i was figuring out how to do VGA on my ps2, so I'm pretty sure they know whats up)
Image
Need FreeMCboot? I'll install it on your PS2 Memory Card for free if you cover postage both ways.
Consoles: I have too much stuff
Arcade: No seriously, I have too much stuff. Someone grab a shovel and dig me out of my basement.
User avatar
Mod_Man_Extreme
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6847
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:05 am
Location: Statesville, North Carolina

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Mod_Man_Extreme Tue May 19, 2009 10:56 am

I displayed my PS3 through Component until I got an HDMI cable for it when I put my PS2 on the HDTV and simply reused the PS3's component cable for said PS2.
My Consoles:
Genesis - Nomad - SegaCD - GameGear - Sega Saturn - Dreamcast - NES - SNES - N64 - Gamecube - Wii - Playstation - PSone & LCD - PS2 - PS3 - Xbox - 3DS

Niode wrote:Send him a dodgy cheque. Make it out to Scammy McScammerson.


Check out my sale thread below, NeoGeo MVS carts & Arcade gear wanted!:
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=11366
User avatar
Beak
64-bit
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:34 pm

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Beak Tue May 19, 2009 2:00 pm

Niode wrote:The best way is to just check with a laptop or anything portable that can output VGA resolution over a VGA cable. They might get a bit pissy with you if you take a DC or something that has to be plugged into the mains. I don't know how it is in your country but when I was purchasing my Viera they wouldn't let me plug my own equipment into their plug sockets because it wasn't PAT tested. They happy to demonstrate with similar equipment they had in store though.

With it being a relatively small purchase they may be a bit arsy about the extra work but at the end of the day a sale is a sale so you might luck out and get somebody who will do anything for you (the way it should be in my opinion, it's their job to sell after all).

Personally, if it HAS to be TFT then I'd try and get an old native SVGA monitor, chances are it will support VGA as well but it's worth checking all the same. I'd personally get a CRT as it will give you the best quality picture regardless of resolution. The only problem is the sheer size of the damn things, plus they eat electricity if used for long periods of time.


I didn't really understand everything you were talking about; I should bring my laptop, a VGA cable, and set my resolution to 640x480 and start plugging it in at the store?

Sorry if I'm reasking something you answered, but is there a way I can check if a monitor will support my VGA's 640 x 480 without physically testing it? Or is it just hit miss.
User avatar
skate323k137
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by skate323k137 Tue May 19, 2009 5:03 pm

spec sheets should show supported resolutions, but in-store, unless you've got internet access on your phone or something, the easiest way is to try if they'll let you hook up your laptop. you don't have to tell them you're trying it at 640x480, if your laptop goes that low anyway.
Image
Need FreeMCboot? I'll install it on your PS2 Memory Card for free if you cover postage both ways.
Consoles: I have too much stuff
Arcade: No seriously, I have too much stuff. Someone grab a shovel and dig me out of my basement.
Mindflux
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:51 pm

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Mindflux Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:37 am

Niode wrote:
The best way is to just check with a laptop or anything portable that can output VGA resolution over a VGA cable. They might get a bit pissy with you if you take a DC or something that has to be plugged into the mains. I don't know how it is in your country but when I was purchasing my Viera they wouldn't let me plug my own equipment into their plug sockets because it wasn't PAT tested. They happy to demonstrate with similar equipment they had in store though.
.


I wish this were true. I can hook up my Macbook to my LG TV and output 640x480 all day long. However hooking up the Dreamcast VGA box I get "unsupported mode". There is something else at play here. It's not just supported resolution. Both my Dreamcast and TV support NTSC signals, so I know it's not the frequency (60Hz) either.

The Dreamcast outputs to my ViewSonic 17" LCD all day long.. but not my TV, not at all.
Souther
8-bit
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:52 pm

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Souther Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:58 am

^ Same here. I have a 1080P Samsung 40' LCD TV and it will not work with the dreamcast VGA box. So i'm just using S-video which still looks pretty good.

Just wished it would work with the VGA box though.

I read on another thread at IGN that a guy was having a similar problem and he thinks it has something to do with the VGA box not but out an exact 60HZ and more likely a 59.97HZ or something like that
Mindflux
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:51 pm

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Mindflux Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:38 am

Souther wrote:
I read on another thread at IGN that a guy was having a similar problem and he thinks it has something to do with the VGA box not but out an exact 60HZ and more likely a 59.97HZ or something like that


60Hz is *ACTUALLY* 59.97Hz. Only the techies/geeks call it 59.97 though.
Souther
8-bit
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:52 pm

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Souther Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:27 pm

I see... Well either way he believes it has something to do concerning a refresh rate problem
Mindflux
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:51 pm

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Mindflux Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:18 pm

Souther wrote:I see... Well either way he believes it has something to do concerning a refresh rate problem

Do you have a link to that thread?
Souther
8-bit
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:52 pm

Re: New Computer Monitor and Dreamcast VGA

by Souther Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:36 pm

Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests